Movie reviews from MercatorNet

movie reviews



Hobbit box set released: finally, the Jackson saga is over
Tom van Laer and Thorsten Hennig-Thurau | 21 April 2015
tags: film reviews, Peter Jackson, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings
A blueprint for how not to make a movie.


America’s tragic journey from Selma to American Sniper
Peter Bloom | 04 February 2015
tags: film reviews, USA
Both are an antidote to cynicism and celebrate the ability of individuals to be a force for social good


Our pick of the films of 2014
Michael Cook | 15 January 2015
tags: 2014, best of, films, lists
Here are our nominations for the best entertainment of the past year, plus a look at the year's worst.


Driving to Nebraska: Cinema, human dignity, and the elderly
Daniel Ross Goodman | 28 August 2014
tags: ageing, films, human dignity
At times, cinema succeeds where philosophy fails.


Vale, Robin Williams, Hollywood’s melancholy funnyman
Zac Alstin | 14 August 2014
tags: films, Hollywood, melancholy, suicide
Why do we feel so moved by the death of a man we've never met?


Groundhog Day turns 21
Michael Cook | 11 February 2014
tags: boredom, film reviews
A film about tedium and futility has become a classic of American cinema.


A searing expose of forgotten horrors
Ronan Wright | 20 January 2014
tags: American history, film reviews, slavery
12 Years a Slave is hard to watch but impossible to forget.


Surprised by Freude
Gilbert Colon | 19 January 2014
tags: abortion, film reviews, Roe v. Wade
On the anniversary of Roe v. Wade, here's a reflection on a famous child who could have been aborted.


Our pick of the films of 2013
Michael Cook | 03 January 2014
tags: best of, film reviews, lists
The year just gone produced some amazing movies.


Belgium, where death becomes the norm, living the exception
Margaret Somerville | 07 November 2013
tags: Belgium, euthanasia, film reviews, suffering
A documentary about ten years of legal euthanasia is a touchstone for radically different approaches to suffering.


British romantic comedy tries time travel
Ronan Wright | 04 October 2013
tags: film reviews
Director Richard Curtis has crafted a pleasant, thoughtful film about making the most of time.


Elysium
Laura Cotta Ramosino | 01 October 2013
tags: dystopia, film reviews
It's District 9 again, but less successful thanks to its obsession with the present.


Lessons about life at Monsters University
Raffaele Chiarulli | 03 September 2013
tags: education of children, film reviews, universities
In the world of Pixar, no one is alone: we all need friends.


Slicing through yakuza and ninjas
Laura Cotta Ramosino | 09 August 2013
tags: boxoffice, films, Japan, The Wolverine
In his sixth appearance as Wolverine, Hugh Jackman is still morose, moody and charismatic.


“World War Z”
Laura Cotta Ramosino | 09 July 2013
tags: family values, film reviews, zombies
Despite its absurd premise, Brad Pitt's latest film is intelligent entertainment with a deep sense of family values.


“Despicable Me 2”
Ronan Wright | 27 June 2013
tags: film reviews, Hollywood
The art of making wholesome, thoroughly entertaining films for the whole family is not dead.


“Man of Steel”
Ronan Wright | 18 June 2013
tags: comic books, film reviews
Finally we have an excellent adaptation of everyone's favourite comic book hero.


“The Great Gatsby”
Ronan Wright | 03 June 2013
tags: film reviews
There's lots of froth and bubble in Baz Luhrmann's adaptation of this American classic, but not much soul.


“The Gatekeepers”
Ronan Wright | 27 May 2013
tags: film reviews, Israel, Middle East, organ donation, Palestine, torture
Two documentary films about relations between the Palestinians and the Israelis show the moral complexities brought about by the conflict.


Star Trek: Into Darkness
Ronan Wright | 20 May 2013
tags: film reviews
The familiar characters face very contemporary issues of terrorism and militarism in this nicely characterised film.


A Hijacking
Ronan Wright | 22 April 2013
tags: film reviews, kidnapping, piracy
This extraordinary Danish film about a merchant ship taken by Somali pirates is a masterpiece of tension and characterisation.


White Elephant
Ronan Wright | 16 April 2013
tags: Argentina, film reviews
A gut-wrenching Argentinian drama about life in the sprawling slums of Buenos Aires gives English-speaking viewers an insight into the background of the new Pope.


Page 1 of 7 :  1 2 3 >  Last ›

Follow MercatorNet
Facebook
Twitter
subscribe to newsletter
Sections and Blogs
Harambee
PopCorn
Conjugality
Careful!
Family Edge
Sheila Reports
Reading Matters
Demography Is Destiny
Bioedge
Conniptions (the editorial)
Connecting
Information
contact us
our ideals
our People
our contributors
Mercator who?
partner sites
audited accounts
donate
advice for writers
New Media Foundation
Suite 12A, Level 2
5 George Street
North Strathfield NSW 2137
Australia

editor@mercatornet.com
+61 2 8005 8605
skype: mercatornet

© New Media Foundation 2015 | powered by Encyclomedia | designed by Elleston